For those Veterans who chose to use the Purple Heart waiver instead of the GI Bill benefits, please be aware that UCF will waive the tuition and fees for your classes.You will still qualify for the BAH if you meet the standard requirements, as well as the book stipend.
Please bring a copy of your DD-214 to the Veterans Academic Resource Center. We will then take the documentation to Student Account Services for processing.
Out of State Tuition Waiver
The C.W. Bill Young Tuition Waiver Program (Chapter 1009.26, Section 36, Subsection (12)(a) Florida Statutes) waives out-of-state fees for an honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Forces, United States Reserve Forces, or the National Guard who physically reside within the state of Florida while enrolled at any UCF campus.
- DD-214 showing Honorable Discharge
- Proof of residency within the state of Florida in the form of one of the following:
- Proof of water, electric, or natural gas bill
- Proof of a lease agreement
- A declaration of domicile in Florida
- Proof of permanent employment in Florida (letter on company letterhead stating that the claimant will be employed at least 20 hours per week)
- Degree seeking student (cannot be a non-degree student)
Application for the C.W. Bill Young Tuition Waiver must be submitted by 5:00 PM on the FRIDAY of the first week of classes for the upcoming semester (i.e. Friday August 22, 2014 for the Fall 2014 term). This application only needs to be turned in only once for the entire time a student is continuously enrolled at UCF.
You will need to download the Tuition Waiver form, and submit all required documents to the Veterans Academic Resource Center by the stated deadline.
Yellow Ribbon Program
For those who are eligible and apply, UCF will contribute 50% of the amount of out-of-state tuition and fees (up to $3000 per semester) for a total of 30 eligible undergraduate student veterans and dependents, and a total of 10 eligible graduate student veterans and dependents the VA will match that amount and issue payment directly to the institution. View the Yellow Ribbon Program Rules for more information.
GI Bill Printable Forms
All forms should be typed (Cert Form (VSC) must be typed), signed and presented to the Veteran Services office in the VARC before they will be processed (all faxed forms must be typed).
Chapter 30 (Montgomery GI Bill)
Chapter 33 (Post 9/11 GI Bill)
You MUST be enrolled at "More Than 1/2 Time" AND have one 3 Credit Hour class that requires you to be "in residence" or actually sitting in a face-to-face class that meets each week.